The Minister of Transport, Mr. Fikile Mbalula, together with the Minister of Public Enterprise, Mr Pravin Gordhan and the management of the Ports Regulator of South Africa and the South African Maritime Safety Authority will brief the Media on the sea ports ban as pronounced by the President.

South Africa has 72 ports of entry in the country which are land, sea and airports. Of the 53 land ports, the President pronounced that 35 will be shut down with effect from Monday 16 March. Additionally, 2 of the 8 sea ports will be closed for passengers and crew changes.

The briefing will take place as follows:

Date: 18 March 2020

Time: 15:00

Venue: TNPA House, 10th Floor, 12 South Arm Road.